Feeds:
Posts
Comments

Archive for November 30th, 2009

As I left work and headed home tonight  I called my wife and asked her  what she wanted for dinner. To my surprise, she didn’t care! She said,” nothing is really pulled out of the freezer and the fridge looks like the entire football team stayed over last night.” Ok, we could go in a couple directions here, pizza, nah had that last night. Pancakes, nah, and FYI they are called “flapjacks”in our house and we eat them more often at night then we ever do for breakfast. So maybe I go back to one of the house favorites,”Nacho Mama’s Nacho Bake.”This is always a winner when you wanna get food on the table quick, and my twin 4 year olds girls love the name of it. It is basically a  meat lasagna, but I switch out the pasta sheets for  flour tortillas and mozzarella cheese  is switched for a mix of cheddar and pepper jack cheese. I also add salsa to the tomato sauce. Just layer it all up just like you would for a lasagna and bake it in the oven until everything is hot and bubbling. Ok, this is a variation of the original that I made when I was in charge of making staff meal for many, many years in the restaurant. All that was ever handed to me was the end cuts and pieces left  from trimmed  up  strip loins and filets. It was my job to #1 make it taste good, #2 make it look good, #3 make sure I had enough of it, #4 make sure it was up in time when all those ungrateful maintenance men, secretaries and servers who came in to the kitchen to take a peek over at staff meal. You have to understand that making staff meal in the restaurant is not fun, it isn’t like cooking for love ones or vip’s. There is no foie, truffles, and killer seafood allowed. You are lucky if the other line cooks even give you their day old chopped herbs or chicken stock to make rice. This is usually the job of a younger cook in the kitchen, not usually the greenest guy in the kitchen, but usually someone who is trusted. God forbid if  “pink in the middle” chicken francaise gets sent up for staff meal. You will never hear the end of it, and you will never show your face in the dining room to eat with the servers if it happens more than once. They have an awful lot to say for their free meal!  You will never hear a cook  complain, they are grateful for two scoops of rice, a chicken wing, quick smoke and a text to their girlfriend before service. Now, how did I get this silly name? One day  I put up some really great tacos at the restaurant, they were banging! I roasted my poblanos, I made a really great salsa and  grated up some queso fresco. I made tons of really good authentic toppings on the side so the servers could make up  their own. To tell you the truth I made it cause I wanted my dishwashers to enjoy them. I was so proud until one server came and asked,” what the hell was this?” I was behind the line and I told her  “tacos”, she told me where to stick them. I quickly explained to her what it was until she continued to talk under her breathe. I told her that they were F… tacos again, and that this is they way real Mexican food was made, and not what her Mama called Mexican food. She wanted those horrible  hard shell tacos that come packed with the stupid mexican spice. Wow, did I lay it into her, I told her that my idea of a taco wasnt the same as her wonder bread eating ass and her and her mama need to try something other than Ortega taco shells. So now I  encourage my little girls to eat whatever I put in front of them, and if you give it a silly name they won’t ever mind the sauteed mushrooms, roasted poblanos and cumin spiked sour cream I slide into their daddy’s nacho bake.

QUESTION OF THE DAY (QOTD) DO YOU HAVE ANY  SILLY  NAMES FOR FOOD TO GET YOUR KIDS TO EAT WHAT YOU SERVE?

PLEASE LEAVE ME A COMMENT !!! AND  THANK YOU FOR EVERYONE WHO IS READING. OVER 600 VIEWS LAST WEEK!

THANKS!

BILL

Read Full Post »